MCU Firmware Update

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in working with nb-IoT. I have an ST board and I want to send its data to Leshan server using Quectel BC95-G. I have a basic question: Can I use FOTA to update the ST board from LwM2M server? Is it possible?

Thank you all!

1 Like

It is possible to use FOTA to upgrade ST boards, but the general practice is to use DFOTA to upgrade.

1 Like

Would you please give me any documents that I can use DFOTA to upgrade my ST board via Quectel BC95G?

Quectel_BG95&BG77&BG600L_Series_DFOTA_Application_Note_V1.1.pdf (327.1 KB)

Thank you, but my problem is still there. This document is about how to use FOTA to update the Quectel module’s firmware, not a mcu that is connected to the Quectel module.
I want to update the firmware of a mcu (like an stm32 board) which is sending its data using nb-iot and Quectel module (like bc95-g). The bc95-g’s firmware update is ok, but I want to send firmware from the server to mcu. How can I do that using nb-iot?

1 Like

You use the AT-commands to download your firmware file using LwM2M manually, and after that it depends on your MCU how you install it. But that latter part is a question for the STM32 support forum and not for Quectel.

Aniita I have the very same question like you but people keep replying about modem FOTA like that’s the only thing that needs an update.

After some research, I think you can use object 9 (LWM2M Software Management object) to trigger/monitor your STM32 board firmware update.
It’s a bit tricky but basically you have to provide a server(could be a simple CoAP server) for hosting your STM32 file, point object 9 to it and trigger your STM32 to start firmware update(just like the modem FOTA).
Now how do you download the firmware file is up to you. For me I use raw CoAP(outside of my Lwm2m handling). I also have to update object 9 on the status of the firmware download.

https://devtoolkit.openmobilealliance.org/OEditor/LWMOView

2 Likes

Hi Muhammad,