Is there is any firmware upgrade needed for LTE EC21 module or not?

Hi
I am new to this EC21 Module.
Is there any need to upgrade firmware of EC21 LTE module and DFOTA used for upgrade firmware for EC21 itself or for MCU connect through it.

Thank you

Hello Abhay,

You could start debugging directly. Of cause, if you want to test upgrading or DFOTA procedure, you can do that.
For upgrading firmware we provide flash tool for Windows and Linux. For DFOTA, please tell us your current firmware and target firmware, we’ll make the delta image.

Best Regards,

1 Like

Hi WillieYao
I am asking, Is DFOTA used for upgrading firmware of EC21 LTE module or it is used for upgrading the firmware of MCU connected through LTE module?

Hi Abhay,

DFOTA is used for upgrading firmware for EC21 module.

Best Regards,

1 Like

Hi WillieYao
Thank you for your support
It is necessary to upgrade the firmware of LTE module or we can just modify the commands in MCU firmware?

Hi Abhay,

DFOTA itself is AT command method. You can just modify commands in MCU firmware to execute DFOTA.
And DFOTA not the only way to upgrade firmware. There’s USB flashing method with using flash tool.

Best Regards,

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.
Can we send AT commands to LTE module via UART ptotocol through MCU?

You’re welcome.
Can we send AT commands to LTE module via UART ptotocol through MCU? =>Yes.
Here si the document link for your reference.
https://www.quectel.com/ProductDownload/EC21.html

thanks for your reply

So if I can send AT commands via UART then there is any need to upgrade firmware?
or we can proceed without LTE firmware upgrade?

No need. With UART port connected, then you can strat your test directly.
No matter you upgrading firmware or not, it doesn’t effect your setup and debugging. Module itself has firmware flashed already.