EG25G "No Network Service" when registering to Simpel/T-Mobile and NL KPN

Hi Everyone

I have been trying to get my pinephone (which uses a EG25G) to connect to a mobile network. I’ve tried to manually get it to register to a network using AT commands but all I get are “No Network Service” errors. I’ve tried to fine more details logging but I can’t open the qmdl files I get from the QLog tool and the logging in /var/log on the modem don’t seem to list anything relevant (as far as i can tell, I’m not an expert).

The sim used works just fine in my android phone.

I’ve seen some people here with similar problems being advised to update their firmware, could that be a possible solution for me as well? (I’ve tried to find some kind of firmware changelog, so I’d be able to tell myself, but couldn’t find any.)

Here’s are some of the AT commands and results I’ve tried.

ATI

Quectel
EG25
Revision: EG25GGBR07A08M2G

OK
AT+QNWINFO

+QNWINFO: "FDD LTE","20416","LTE BAND 8",3700

OK
AT+CSQ

+CSQ: 18,99

OK
AT+COPS=?

+COPS: (1,"Simpel","Simpel","20416",7),(3,"NL KPN","NL KPN","20408",7),,(0-4),(0-2)

OK
AT+COPS=1,2,20416,7

+CME ERROR: 30
AT+COPS=1,2,20408,7

+CME ERROR: 30

Thanks,

Wieke

Dear Wieke,
Thanks for your inquiry in Quectel forum.
For your issue, Please check the following information:
1.do not lock to PLMN, just use automatic mode;
2.Please check the following commands:
AT+CEREG?
AT+CREG?
AT+QENG=“servingcell”
AT+QCFG=“BAND”
AT+QCFG=“nwscanmode”
3.it is need the special tool to open qmdl file, sorry can not share the tool with you, and you can email to support@quectel.com to ask our local FAE to help to analyze the log file.

Hi Kyson

Thanks for helping out. Here are the commands and results you asked for (I ran these after I rebooted the entire system):

AT+CEREG?

+CEREG: 0,0

OK
AT+CREG?

+CREG: 0,0

OK
AT+QENG="servingcell"

+QENG: "servingcell","LIMSRV","LTE","FDD",204,16,D480A,409,1800,3,5,5,203,-105,-12,-76,14,22

OK
AT+QCFG="BAND"